New Year — New Goals

With the new year comes all this talk of new goals, and so I figured it would be a good time to talk about some of my goals for the year.  This year, Beth and I sat down during Winter Break and decided to set up 2 sets of goals: 1 set of goals for us as a newly married couple, and 1 set for us individually.  

 Since studies show that most New Year’s resoultions are broken by February 14th or so, we decided to make it a little bit more interesting and put our “money” where our mouth is.  We both agreed to put $10/week each in an empty wine bottle (so we couldn’t have easy access to it!) and keep track of our goals.  The person who had accomplished their goals at the end of the year would get the $1040 that would be in the wine bottle (or probably bottles by that time!)

Any good goals need to be measurable and have an end date, and all of our goals meet that criteria.  Our family goals are pretty simple…we are big followers of Dave Ramsey and are currently on baby step 2 (the debt snowball), so one of our goals is to have about $17,000 of student loan debt paid down by 12/31/10.  This is the last of our debt and the last big student loan (so big we have named the loan “Fat Bastard”)  we have before we are debt free! We also set the goal to attend church at least 2x each month, to make sure we have a “date night” with no distractions or anything at least 3x a month and to eat dinner at home at least 3x a week with each other.  The catch of the wine bottle system is that if we don’t meet our family/couple goals regadless of whether or not the personal goals are met, all the money in the wine bottles goes right to debt. 

As for my personal goals, I have a few of them and I plan on accomplishing them and winning that $1040!  My first goal is to drop 24lbs by the end of school (5/22/10).  My second is to maintain a 4.0 GPA in my grad program at Boise State.  Thirdly, I want to blog at least once a week (thank you for taking part in supporting my goal!).  My forth goal is to read 6 non-fiction books by the end of the year.  Lastly, and this is my biggest goal…I want to beat my time in last years Race to Wrigley 5K by at least one minute.  (My time last year was a blazing 36:10).  This is the one that concerns me…and I have already begun training even though the race is in April.  I am using Coolrunning.com’s Couch to 5K program which is perfect for me because when it comes to being a couch potato, I make the spuds in Idaho jealous.  I will keep you posted on how the training is coming along thoughout the season. 

Professionally I would like to continue to develop my reputation in the educational technology circles, and while I have no explicit goals for that in the new year, it is something that keeps me making sure the curriculum in my classes are relevant and applicable to my students. 

Happy New Year!

About jjanczak

A secondary social science teacher jumping into the world of education technology and trying to make classrooms centered around technology the rule, not the exception in the school systems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

