Reflection: Mobile Learning Course

I have just completed a summer semester class @ Boise State University entitled EdTech 597: Mobile Learning – Devices, Applications, Pedagogy.  It was all about using mobile devices for learning, and I have to say I learned a ton.

I’ve always been an advocate for using mobile devices like cell phones, PDAs, iTouches, etc. in the classroom, but this class opened my eyes to the potential that is out there with these devices.  First, it is important to realize we are teaching 21st Century learners, and that these mobile devices are THEIR mediums! These devices also allow students to learn on their time, and on-demand when they want.

From a communication perspective, I have discovered the power of Twitter as a mass communication device for reaching my students, communicating with them, and allowing them to study for tests, ask questions of me or their peers, and keep track of daily assignments. The power of MMS via Twitter is impressive as students can take pictures that relate to their topics and share them with their peers and instructors.

I have been impressed my my colleagues use of the iTouches as instructional devices.  From media players and creators to using them as a way to quickly evaluate student knowledge of concepts, these little devices seem to have endless learning potential.  Our department has just received 5, and I look forward to continuing to learn with my colleagues how to use them.

This 8 week course continued to fuel my desire to bring mobile devices into the classroom.  It was informational, entertaining, and filled with numerous mobile learning opportunities.  I look forward to using the information learned here back in my classroom and in my department.

About jjanczak

A secondary social science teacher jumping into the world of education technology and trying to make classrooms centered around technology the rule, not the exception in the school systems.
This entry was posted in Teaching, technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflection: Mobile Learning Course

  1. apollington says:

    I completely agree! Nice reflection!

  2. Jason, I agree with you about Twitter. I had never used it before this course, I simply thought it was a way for people to find out what kind of sandwich a celebrity was eating. Now I see it as an incredibly valuable tool for communication. I’m not sure if it is something that I will use with my 3rd graders (maybe parents though), but I will definitely promote it to my colleagues that teach older students.

Leave a Reply

