Edmodo as a Virtual Substitute

So as I mentioned in the previous post, I am out of school for 3 days while I attend the ICE Conference in St. Charles, Illinois.

Three days out of a classroom for most people usually means the learning stops and the movies begin, and admittedly I was one of those people (a teacher can get a pretty good vacation in while showing Mr. Smith Goes to Washington!)  Ever since I switched my classes over to Edmodo the learning can continue while I am gone, and I can still have contact with my students if questions/problems arise.

I wrote alot about Edmodo back in this post a few years back and I am now beginning to truly harness the power of what this tool can do.  As I mentioned, I am gone for three days, but I am able to send my students to the computer lab, have them log on to Edmodo, watch the lesson I uploaded on to TeacherTube which I embed on Edmodo and then complete the project or questions that demonstrates a deeper understanding of the lesson.  They can upload that formative assessment back to me and I can check to see if they got the main concepts of the lesson.  Today students have been contacting me via Direct Message if they have questions, or they are just posting the questions on the Facebook style page for the class that Edmodo create and helping each other (THAT has been awesome to see!)

Without Edmodo I would probably waste good instructional time with meaningless busy work/movie while I am off getting some good professional development – however with Edmodo the students continue to get the instruction they need, I am able to help them as needed, and I can still evaluate their progress in learning as the week continues.  While it is not exactly the same as being there, it is also not 3 wasted days of instructional time watching a meaningless movie (much to the disappointment of some of my students…).

Edmodo is already great for student engagement with the curriculum, helping each other, and allowing for learning to happen outside the classroom – but now that I have discovered how easy it is to use as a virtual substitute I am really glad I starting using it with my classes.

 

About jjanczak

A secondary social science teacher jumping into the world of education technology and trying to make classrooms centered around technology the rule, not the exception in the school systems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

