ICE 2012 Day 2 – Becoming Revolutionary

Today was my second day at ICE – here are some thoughts on the day

1) The keynote by Peter Reynolds was inspiring – while the jist of it was “make your mark” I especially liked his quote that “changing is doing something different – innovation requires you to be revolutionary…” which is pretty fitting to where I am right now – do I want to just change things for my students or do I want to do something revolutionary for them? I know which direction I want to take them – but how do I make it revolutionary? I have kept coming back to that question all day.

2) In keeping with my goals of going to less “tools” based presentation and more “learning” based presentations I went to my first session of the day.  Any Jon Orech presentation is easily worth the price of admission to the entire conference and this one was no different – Jon talked about setting the table for achievement.  It was a great discussion about how to use technology to support learning and some of the pitfalls that EdTech falls into – specifically with using tools to use tools.  It wasn’t just a sit and get – we had the chance to talk to each other about some of the thought provoking question Jon posed.  This was a helpful step in becoming revolutionary – like I said worth the price of admission.

3) It was great to network with old friends and make new connections.  This was the first year at ICE where I felt like I belonged because I knew a few people – it was kind of a cool feeling for me.

4) E-pubs seem to be the wave of the future right now and it is great to see students creating some great work and being able to share it out – I am hoping to do a session on how we are doing this at Grayslake Central next year (in forming a partnership with our feeder district and letting our HS kids create texts for our feeder schools).  Not sure if that counts as revolutionary – but its a step in the ride direction.

I am looking forward to tomorrow and finding more fuel for my quest to not just change what I do in my class but to become revolutionary.

About jjanczak

A secondary social science teacher jumping into the world of education technology and trying to make classrooms centered around technology the rule, not the exception in the school systems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

