Oh THERE You Are…

After a 7 month hiatus from blogging, I am back!

Things I have learned since I’ve been gone:

1) Having a baby daughter is by far the most awesome yet scariest thing that can ever happen to a man.  I love her dearly, and we have had a blast these past 10 months – she is my world and I wouldn’t change that for anything. She is our first and to say having a baby changes your life is an understatement.  Sleepless nights, dirty diapers, giggles and now a lot of crawling – it is truly been a blessing of an experience.

2) Mid-major colleges are awesome – I flew to Boise State for my Masters in Educational Technology and spent 2 nights out there.  Gorgeous campus, gorgeous town and a fantastic graduation ceremony.  Having graduated from Michigan State I had never been to a smaller school before.  While I will bleed green and white forever, 20 minutes in Boise made me realize that I could have been a Bronco too and been happy.

3) Apparently I cannot quit going to school.  In August I joined a cohort at National Louis University for a Type 75 administrative certificate – just in case a door opens in the future – I will be ready to step through it.

4) Common Core is a lot like waking up with the flu/needing to throw-up – you can fight it all you want but eventually its going to happen after you do it you feel better.  I’ll admit I wasn’t entirely on-board at first but after doing some reading and research and seeing that if it is done right it actually gives the teacher more autonomy and focuses on skill development I am hooked.

5) I have found a new passion for writing in the classroom.  After getting away from it for awhile for reasons that I still don’t fully understand I approached this semester with the emphasis on writing with my seniors.  Using Kelly Gallagher’s book Write Like This, I am redesigning the process in which we approach writing in Honors Government class.  So far, so good and I will keep you posted.

I have learned a lot more since the last time I blogged, but as referenced in #1, I have a baby daughter and on top of being the most adorable thing on the planet she also wears me out so I am signing off and heading to bed.  I promise to visit more often.  Until next time – go forth and do good things.

 

About jjanczak

A secondary social science teacher jumping into the world of education technology and trying to make classrooms centered around technology the rule, not the exception in the school systems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

