Giving Up Facebook For Lent

Image

So I’ve been thinking long and hard about what to give up for Lent.  I could give up soda, snacks, or junk food but for a guy of my, um, “stature” giving up useless calories is a lot like asking someone to give up breathing…sure it sounds like a good idea at the time but it isn’t going to last very long. 

So I took a good hard look at what was going on in my life.  I was incredibly busy with coaching club volleyball, helping lead a department, integrating writing into my Honors US Government curriculum, and getting students ready for the AP Economics exam, taking Masters classes but more importantly trying to be a great husband to my wife and an even greater father to our 11 month old daughter.  I realized that my time was at a premium and that while being on Facebook was fun it wasn’t helping me become better at any of those more important things listed above.  So I am going to give up Facebook.  For 40 days.  40 incredibly long days.  

To say I am a bit nervous is an understatement but I think it will all be ok.  Our daughter just turned 11 months today and I look forward to spending more time playing with her and watching her grow.  I look forward to spending more time conversing with Beth (we are both guilty of getting lost in our phones spending time checking status updates after a long day rather than talking to each other).  I look forward to spending more time blogging (I’ve already decided that WordPress will be my “fix” for when I want to check Facebook at home or at school – I will just jump on here and throw out something that I am musing about).  I look forward to spending time on what is important.  That is not to say things on Facebook aren’t important. There are some things that are important on Facebook and most likely I will miss out on a few things (like a $5000 from Bill Gates if I “like” his picture…I may have won that contest!), but in the grand scheme of things I will probably miss out on a lot more going on around me if I were spending time on Facebook.  

Some of you may ask, “Well Jason, that is very admirable…are you going to give up Twitter too?” 

My response would be “Next question…” 

I will still be on Twitter, which I use a lot more for professional development (I swear!) than getting my fix of Someeccards sayings.  But until Good Friday I am saying “Adios” to Facebook.  There will be some trying times to be sure but I think in the long run it will all be ok.  

I mean we all survived without Facebook before Mark Zuckerberg right? So how bad can 40 days be? Really? I’ll keep you posted.  

I’d love to hear your thoughts – post them below – and once I come out of my withdrawal shakes and tears I will be sure to read them.  

1 day down…39 more to go…

 

About jjanczak

A secondary social science teacher jumping into the world of education technology and trying to make classrooms centered around technology the rule, not the exception in the school systems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

