Goals

So I’ve been thinking a lot about goals this month.  Personal goals. Family goals. Professional goals.  I wanted to share a few professional ones here – to make them public and as a way to hold me accountable – because like the old adage says, if you didn’t write it down, it never happened.

  1. Blog once a week – I mentioned that last week – one of my goals is to write at least once a week here.  So far, I am 2 for 2 in weeks.  Stay tuned.
  2. Re-write at least 2 of my AP Economics units before the summer – As a department chair so much of my time is devoted to supporting others in their curriculum development that sometimes my curriculum development gets put on to the back burner.  Not complaining at all – I love my job and helping my colleagues grow – but there comes a time when you just know its time for an overhaul of what you are doing and right now is my time to do that.  I am too Powerpoint centered and I want to start incorporating more simulations and application based lessons in my units. I will keep you posted.
  3. Spread our Democracy School mindset outside of the Social Studies Department – We have been a proud Democracy School for the past 4 years and now more than ever I am finding it important that we spread the culture we have created in our department across the entire school.  This work has already begun as I have had some conversations with colleagues in our English department about ways to incorporate service learning into their curriculum.  In presenting to our board earlier this month my counterpart over at North and I added up the numbers and realized that last year students in District 127 spent nearly 20,000 hours in community service – just in their Social Studies classes.  Imagine how we could impact our community if we spread those same opportunities for community connection throughout the school!

So there are my goals – feel free to leave feedback if you’d like.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress.  As always, thanks for reading and make it a great week!

About jjanczak

A secondary social science teacher jumping into the world of education technology and trying to make classrooms centered around technology the rule, not the exception in the school systems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

